Copying Modules & Sections

This tool allows you to duplicate a content module or an entire section of content within the same page you're working on, or to any other page(s). 

Spark location: Any page with modules & sections > PowerDots

Copying ModulesCopying SectionsCopying to another page


Modules

Example: you want to repeat the styling of a module multiple times on the same page

On the module you want to duplicate, choose Copy from the PowerDots. You'll see these options:

  • Select 'This page'
  • Unselect 'Hidden after copy'
  • Save & Close

A copy of your module will appear immediately below the original. It will be bordered in orange to show that it has not yet been saved to the page. Click the orange Save button. If 'Hidden after copy' had been left on when you made the copy, the new module would be grayed out to show that it was hidden.

After moving the copy to the 2nd column and making another copy for the 3rd column, the result is shown above. This maintained the styling so all that's left to do is update the actual content in each of the modules. 

Sections

Let's expand on the previous example: now you want create another row of images using the same styling

On the SECTION you want to duplicate, choose Copy from the PowerDots. You'll see the same options as before: 

  • Select 'This page'
  • Unselect 'Hidden after copy'
  • Save & Close

A copy of your section will appear immediately below the original. It will be bordered in orange to show that it has not yet been saved to the page. Click the orange Save button. If 'Hidden after copy' had been left on when you made the copy, the new section would be grayed out to show that it was hidden.

Copying to another page

Example: you've built a module or section which needs to be duplicated on another page or multiple pages

Let's copy the section of images we used above. This time choose 'Other page(s)' and a search box appears':

You can locate other pages within your site by page title: 

Select the appropriate page(s) and either SAVE & CONTINUE if you want to do another search, or SAVE & CLOSE if you're done copying. Nothing changes on the page you're copying FROM, but the destination will include the copied content:

It won't be publicly visible until you save the destination page (note the orange borders). So if you've copied content to multiple pages you'll need to open each of them and save the duplicate sections or modules (these same steps work for both sections and modules).

 If you used the 'Hidden after copy' option, the content still won't be visible to the public even after saving it to the page. This would be handy for moving content which needs to appear on a page at a later time and needs to be scheduled.


Copying ModulesCopying SectionsCopying to another page

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us